Rentingwell vs OntarioLandlord: Which Fits an Ontario Landlord? (2026)

Comparison as of October 2026.

Features and prices of other products are taken from their own websites on the date of writing and can change; check their site before you decide. This is not legal advice.

Rentingwell and OntarioLandlord are both built for landlords in Ontario. Both keep a rent ledger, and both fill in the Landlord and Tenant Board's N4. They differ in pricing, in how many LTB notices they cover, and in what happens after the N4 is given.

This post sets them side by side. Everything we say about OntarioLandlord comes from its own website, with a link to the page. Where its site doesn't say, we say "Not stated".

At a glance

RentingwellOntarioLandlord
Who it's forOntario landlords who manage their own rentals, usually 1 to 15 units"Ontario landlords and property managers" (source)
Free planYes, for 1 or 2 unitsNo free plan. A 30-day free trial; a card is required at signup (source)
Pricing$5 per unit per month, from $15; units past 10 are $2 each; CAD plus taxOwner $29/month (up to 3 active leases), Investor $49 (up to 12), Portfolio $99 (up to 25), Enterprise custom; CAD (source)
Yearly billing2 months free"Yearly plans include 2 months free" (source)
Rent ledgerRent due, marked paid, late days, receiptsRunning arrears balance, payment history, LTB-format ledger export, Plaid bank sync (source)
N4Fills in the current N4 (2026/09) from the ledger; 7-day date counted for six delivery methods. First N4 free; then $19 each on the free plan; included on paid plansIncluded on all plans; single N4 from $7 with no signup; termination dates "account for deemed service" (source)
Other LTB formsN1 (rent increase), filled in from the unit's rent increaseN1, N5, N8, N12, N13 and others; single notices $7 to $19 (source)
L1 applicationFilled in from the N4 and the rent ledger, with a package of the L1, N4, certificate and 12 months of rent history; Board case tracking (L1 file number, hearing, order)Not stated
Certificate of ServiceYes, with each N4Yes, with each notice (source)
Records and documentsMy documents (N4s with certificates), a package zip for a paralegal, logbook with notes, photos and filesEvidence storage, PDF packages with ledger, notices, payment history and maintenance logs (source)
Other notable featuresRent increases with the N1, repayment plans, move-out, income statement, rent roll, CSV export, public listingsOntario Standard Lease generation, T776 tax export (source)

Where Rentingwell is stronger

You can start for free and stay free. If you rent out one or two units, Rentingwell costs nothing, and your first N4 is free. OntarioLandlord has no free plan. It offers a 30-day trial, and it asks for a card at signup. (source)

Small landlords pay less. Three units on Rentingwell are $15 a month. OntarioLandlord's smallest plan is $29 a month for up to 3 active leases. (source) At 10 units the two are close: $50 on Rentingwell, $49 on OntarioLandlord's Investor plan. So the difference is mostly at the small end, which is where most self-managing landlords sit.

The N4 comes straight from the ledger, with the date counted for you. In Rentingwell, rent is due each month and you mark it paid. When a tenant falls behind, the N4 page takes the rent owing from that ledger. You can also enter a calculation instead. It fills in the Board's current N4, the September 2026 version. Then it counts the 7-day termination date for the way you'll give the notice: in person, in the mailbox, by mail, by courier, by email with the tenant's consent, or by fax. You get the Board's checklist and a Certificate of Service with it.

OntarioLandlord also calculates termination dates and includes a Certificate of Service. Its N4 page explains the mail rule ("Mail adds 5 days of deemed service on top of the notice period") but doesn't list the other delivery methods. (source)

After the N4, things stay in one place. My documents keeps every N4 with its certificate. One click builds a package zip: the N4, the certificate, a rent schedule PDF and a CSV of payments. That's what a paralegal asks for, and it's what you need to file with the Board. When the termination date passes, Rentingwell fills in the L1 from the same ledger and N4, and its package holds the L1, the N4, the certificate and the last 12 months of rent. Then it tracks the case: the L1 file number, the hearing, the order and the close.

Payment agreements are built in. If a tenant agrees to pay arrears over time, or the Board orders a repayment plan, you can set it up in Rentingwell and track each instalment against the ledger.

The everyday work is covered too. Rent increases with the guideline, the notice-by date, reminders and the N1 filled in. Move-out with the deposit and keys. A property logbook with notes, photos and files. An income statement, a rent roll and a CSV export. Public listings at rnt.al when a unit is empty.

It's been around a while. Rentingwell has run since 2012. It’s made in Canada.

Where OntarioLandlord may suit you better

You need notices other than the N4. Rentingwell fills in the N4, the N1 and the L1. OntarioLandlord lists the N1, N5, N8, N12 and N13 alongside the N4, and an Ontario Standard Lease. (source) If you're ending a tenancy for your own use (N12) or for renovation (N13), OntarioLandlord has those forms and Rentingwell doesn't. In practice, the N4 is the notice small Ontario landlords give most, and the L1 is the application that usually follows it. Notices like the N12 and N13 come up far less often, so for most landlords the longer list matters less than it looks.

You want one notice without an account. OntarioLandlord sells single notices: the N1 and N4 from $7, the N5, N8, N12 and N13 at $19, with no signup for the $7 option. (source) Rentingwell's first N4 is free but needs a free account. Rentingwell's N4 calculator works without an account, but it gives you the dates and amounts, not the filled form.

You want bank sync or a tax export. OntarioLandlord lists Plaid bank sync to import payments and a T776 tax report. (source) Rentingwell's Finance section gives you an income statement, a rent roll and a CSV export, but no bank connection.

You manage more than 15 units with a team. OntarioLandlord's plans go up to 25 leases, with Enterprise pricing beyond that. (source) Rentingwell is built for owners who manage their own buildings.

The bottom line

If your main need is a clean rent ledger and correct N4s, pick Rentingwell. It's free for one or two units. It's cheaper than OntarioLandlord at three units, and about the same at ten. The path from the ledger to the N4 to the package for your paralegal is short and specific to Ontario.

If you regularly give N12s, N13s or other notices, or you want bank sync and a T776 report, OntarioLandlord covers more forms. Try its 30-day trial.

Either way, check the termination date yourself before you give a notice. Neither tool is a law firm.

Start free or try the free N4 calculator. No account needed.